Jun 15, 2024  
Jarvis Christian University 
Jarvis Christian University

Board of Trustees

The first Jarvis Christian University governing board was organized in 1929, and was called the Texas Advisory Board. Membership consisted of prominent members of the Christian Church, who advised the College on policy. In 1958, Jarvis Christian University began operation under the Board of Higher Education of the Disciples of Christ and the Board of Fundamental Education. The creation of this eighteen-member board brought an end to the designation of Jarvis Christian Univerisity as a mission institution. The current structure was created in December 1974, to include representatives from the student body, the Jarvis Christian University/Southern Christian Institute National Alumni and Ex-Students Association, and the faculty.


Mr. Torry L. Edwards, Chair

Mr. William F. Fisher, III, Vice Chair

Mr. Glenn R. Etienne, Treasurer

Mr. Kenneth Gwyn, Secretary

Ms. LeKetia L. Blair

Rev. Dani Cartwright

Mr. Bernard “Chris” Dorsey

Ms. Deborah Mitchell

Major General John F.Phillips

Dr. Kent Willis

Ms. Alma Walker

Dr. Charles Needham

Ms. Aaronese Wilcox